September 24, 2023
TMG elects Rafsanjani chairman TMG elects Rafsanjani chairman

TMG elects Rafsanjani chairman

By Usman Gwadabe

The Transition Monitoring Group, (TMG), has elected Mr. Auwal Musa Rafsanjani as Chairman of its board.

A release from Dr Akiyode-Afolabi Abiola said, Rafsanjani alongside other members of the board, were elected at the group’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) that took place Thursday, 26th August at Zeus Hotel, Mabushi, Abuja.

The AGM kick started with an electoral summit with the theme: ‘The Future of Nigeria’s Election; The Way Forward,’ which looked at various issues that can improve or impede elections in Nigeria with focus on electoral security, internal party democracy, electronic voting and the impact of election litigation on the integrity of our electoral process.

Mr Rafsanjani, who is also the Head of Transparency International-Nigeria and the chairman Board of Trustees, Amnesty International-Nigeria, will now steer the affairs of the flagship election observation coalition in the country for the next four years.

As the flagship of election observation in Nigeria, TMG played a pivotal role in ensuring civic participation by mobilizing citizens during the Nigeria’s transition programme conducted by the then Military regime of General Abdusalami Abubakar between 1998 and 1999. Since then, TMG has consistently engaged the electoral process in ensuring transparency, accountability and credibility of the process by sensitizing and observing every strand of election in Nigeria.

Others elected include ten new board members and state coordinators who were pooled from different demographics to reflect the diversity of the country.

Mr Rafsanjani succeeded Dr Abiola Akiyode-Afolabi, who stepped down having served the required maximum four years single-term in office.

Other members elected into the board were Ms. Mirian Menkiti, Vice Chair;
Mr. Tijani Abdulkareem ,Treasurer;
Ms. Ekaete Judith Umoh, Representing persons with disabilities; and MrTayo Akinpelu, Representing youths.

Others were Dr. Abdu-Azis Bako, North Central Coordinator; Sylvester Okoduwa, South South Coordinator; Dr. Joseph Gimba, North East Coordinator; Mr. Adesina Adefolahan, South West; Pastor Gabriel Odom, South East and Hajia Fatima Mohammed Umar, North West.

Outlining his key agenda, Mr Rafsanjani thanked the outgoing board and promised to carry along members by running an all-inclusive organisation as we match towards the 2023 General Elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *