September 29, 2023
NIHOTOUR matriculates 500 students, urges discipline, diligence

NIHOTOUR matriculates 500 students, urges discipline, diligence

By Usman Gwadabe

New students of the National Institute for Hospitality and Tourism (NIHOTOUR) have been enjoined to adopt strict adherence to the rules of the Institute.

A statement from the Director, Media and Public Relations of the institute, Ahmed Mohammed Sule said, Nura Sani Kangiwa, Director General and Chief Executive Officer of NIHOTOUR, made the call during the 2020/2021 Matriculation Ceremony of the institute via Zoom streaming, saying the students should see themselves lucky in coming for career proficiency and development.

The Director General, who stated that the Institute has been offering robust courses for personnel in the travel, tourism and hospitality industry, assured the students of support so as to upgrade their professional competence and status for better service delivery in their work places.

Kangiwa, who was represented by the Director, Research and Development/General Studies of the Institute, Dr. Taiwo Famogbiyele, reiterated the resolve of NIHOTOUR to produce skilled, motivated and well-equipped graduates that would be instrumental to bringing the desired change in the industry in line with global best practices.

The Guest lecturer of the occasion, Mr. Nkereuwem Onung and National President of the Federation of Tourism Associations of Nigeria (FTAN), called for re-inforcement and job assurances in the operations of the industry by government and employers to mitigate the negative effects of COVID-19.

He applauded the efforts of NIHOTOUR for continuously engaging operators and stakeholders of the industry, reiterating the importance of the sector in enhancing the country’s GDP as well as job creation for our teeming youths.

The ceremony, which was attended by diverse stakeholders in the industry, saw a total of 500 students matriculated for the 2020/2021 Academic Year across the nine campuses of the institute, namely, Abuja, Enugu, Bauchi, Lagos, Benin, Makurdi, Kaduna, Oshogbo and Kano.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *