June 9, 2023
Governor, Bala secures 2nd term Governor Bala Abdulkadir Muhammad

Governor, Bala secures 2nd term

From Sule Aliyu, Bauchi

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Bala Abdulkadir Muhammmad of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of Saturday’s governorship election with 525,280 votes against his closest rival, Air Marshall Sadique Baba Abubakar of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who polled 432,272 Votes

The governor won 15 out of the 20 local government areas of the state.

PDP’s Muhammad won in 15 of the 20 local councils of Toro; Tafawa Balewa, Ningi, Alkaleri, Dass, Ganjuwa, Zaki, Shira, Dambam, Itas/Gadau, Warji, Bogoro, Jama’are, and Kirfi while APC’s Abubakar won five LGAs of Katagum, Misau, Darazo, Gamawa and Giade.

The result declared by the Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for Bauchi state, Professor Abdulkarim Sabo Mohammed, showed that the PDP won the election with a margin of 93,003 votes

Prof. Abdulkarim Sabo Mohammed, who is the Vice Chancellor, Federal University Dutse (FUD), Jigawa State, said there were 2,’749,268 registered voters in the state.

He said that 1,058,381 voters were accredited while the total votes cast in Saturday’s poll were 1,049,600

He said that the total valid votes were 1,0343,79, while a total of 15,221 votes were rejected.

According to him, the New Nigeria People’s Party NNPP andidate Senator Haliru Jika polled 60,496 to come emerge the third in the contest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *