June 10, 2023
APC convention: Ganduje, Sanwo-Olu, Abiodun, others head committees APC convention

APC convention: Ganduje, Sanwo-Olu, Abiodun, others head committees

From Atiku Sarki, Abuja

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has appointed Kano State governor, Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje as chairman of the Committee of Transportation for its special convention to elect its presidential flag-bearer.

According to a statement issued by Felix Morka, National Publicity Secretary of the party yesterday, Dr. Ramatu Tijani Aliyu, the Minister of State for the Federal Capital Territory, will deputize Governor Ganduje.

The convention is slated to hold on Monday in Abuja. Mr. Morka said Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State is the subcommittee chairman for Finance and Logistics, while Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun will chair Accreditation and Decoration Committee.

The statement revealed that Governor of Gombe State, Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya and the Minister of Finance, Hajiya Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed will co-chair the Budget Sub-Committee for the convention.

Other sub committees and their heads are Security and Compliance under Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State and Gen. Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau (rtd.) as co-chair; Election Planning Committee, Alhaji Abubakar Atiku Bagudu, governor of Kebbi State, while Mr. Hope Uzodinma, governor of Imo State as co-chair.

Accommodation, according to the release is to be headed by Prof. Babagana Umara Zulum, governor of Borno State and co-chaired by Mr. Gboyega Oyetola, governor of Osun State, while Media and Publicity is to be supervised by Governor Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State.

The statement said Medicals SubCommittee is under Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige with the support of Prof. Isaac Folorunso Adewole, former Minister of Health, while Legal Committee is to be manned by the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami and Venue and Site Servicing Committee is anchored by Governor of Zamfara State, Alhaji Bello Muhammad Matawalle with Malam Muhammad Musa Bello, the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, as co-chairman.

The National Publicity Secretary said governor of Yobe State, Alhaji Mai Mala Buni is the chairman, Sub-Committee of Election Appeal, while Hospitality and Welfare is under governor of Plateau State, Mr. Simon Bako Lalong’s watch with the support of Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, Hajiya Sadiya Umar Farouq.

The release further noted that Protocols Sub-Committee is to be manned by Governor Aminu Bello Masari of Katsina State, while Digital Communications is under the supervision of Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara State; Pre-Convention/Management/Rapporteur Committee to be served by Governor Mallam Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai of Kaduna State, while Minister of Women Affairs, Dame Pauline Tallen to deputise him.

Mr. Morka said governor of Niger State, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello is to chair Committee of Presidential Screening Appeal with the support of Hon. Ahmed Idris Wase, Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, while Accreditation of Diplomats is under Ovie Omo-Agege, Deputy President of the Senate. Meanwhile, Mr. Geoffrey Onyeama, Minister for Foreign Affairs would join the Deputy Senate President in the exercise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *